Pantry Clean-Out Pasta.

I don’t know the last time I was particularly excited for a speed workout. (Let alone a set of 800s.)

And then last night happened.

I was stoked.

Last night, I ventured into a vast sea of runners in Central Park. Everyone was out enjoying what was a truly spectacular—and cool!—evening in New York City.

Since I haven’t done any kind of speed work in several weeks, I was curious where I was at.

My fast friend Jenn met me at the Great Lawn.

And being the good fast friend that she is, she pushed me along the way.

Here’s what happened:

That. That's what happened. Ouch.

That. That’s what happened. Ouch.

Though it’s not my fastest, I don’t know the last time I hit a half mile in 3:35.

Back in the saddle, indeed.

And now I’m ferociously hungry.

So let’s all raid the pantry and the fridge and carb up.

Pantry Clean-out Pasta**
Serves 2

Ingredients:
extra-virgin olive oil
1/3 cup pancetta, diced
1 sm. yellow onion, diced
kosher salt
black pepper, freshly ground
1 lg. clove garlic, minced
2 roasted red peppers, seeded and diced
1 cup peas
1/2 lb. pasta, whatever shape you prefer
1/2 cup (or more or less) Parmigiano-Reggiano, grated

Procedure:
1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a rolling boil.
2. Meanwhile, add 1 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil to a large saucepan over medium heat; add pancetta; sauté until golden, about 5-6 minutes; add onion; season with salt and pepper; cook until translucent, about 4-5 minutes; add garlic; sauté 1 minute; add roasted red peppers and peas; toss with pancetta mix; season to taste; reserve.
3. Drop pasta in boiling water; cook until al dente, according to directions; using tongs or slotted spoon, transfer cooked pasta to vegetable mix, along with grated Parmigiano; toss together until well-incorporated; serve immediately with extra Parmigiano.

pasta_fridge_cleanout

**This, obviously, was adapted using ingredients we had on hand in both our pantry and refrigerator. Please use anything and everything (well, maybe not everything) when making your batch of clean-out pasta!

One response to “Pantry Clean-Out Pasta.

Leave a Reply

