Winter Vegetable Soup.

Like so many other humans out there in winter wonderland, I have endured the brutal cold that’s been going around.

I slept.

I drank tea.

I procured nasal spray.

And then on Saturday, I woke up and went out for an easy six mile run, hoping to rid my innards via snotrocketing.

While it helped, I should have recovered in the warmth of my bed, eating soup and drinking more tea.

Instead, I ate tacos and sandwiches and drank Pinot Grigio.

Then on Sunday, I woke up to do my long run.

I ran 3 miles.

For those concerned with my health (AREN’T YOU?!), I’m still snotty, and now I have a harder week of training ahead of me.

And that’s the story of how I received my first training-season-kick-in-the-pants.

Now, let’s have some soup.

Winter Vegetable Soup
Serves 4

Ingredients:
extra-virgin olive oil
1 med. onion, minced
2 lg. Yukon gold potatoes, diced
3 celery stalks, diced
2 med. carrots, peeled and diced
salt
black pepper, freshly ground
2 parsnips, peeled and diced
1 bunch kale, cleaned, stemmed, and chopped
4 cups veal or beef stock

Procedure:
In large stock pot, heat 2-3 Tbsps. oil to medium heat; add onion, potatoes, celery, and carrots; season; sweat for 10 minutes or until soft; add parsnips; season; sauté 10 minutes more; add stock, scraping up brown bits from the bottom of the pan; stir in kale; simmer 15-20 minutes or until vegetables are tender; season to taste; serve with garlic toasts.

winter_veg_soup

One response to “Winter Vegetable Soup.

Leave a Reply

