Greek Salad.

“It’s all about the olive oil,” Momma Lew said whilst eating one of many Greek salads during our recent trip to Greece.

She was right.

(Rather, she is right.)

Combined with the incredible farm fresh produce and quite possibly the greatest feta I’ve ever tasted, good quality Greek olive oil really does tie the room everything together.

(Thank GOD bread was created for sopping up juices‚ amirite?!)

Because of this, Mom and I took a stroll through one of the local cheese shops in Kalavryta. I saw two-liter bottles of olive oil for sale for only 3€.

I immediately picked one up and carefully packed it in my suitcase.

Cut to last night, where, after visiting the Greek market in Astoria, I made His Lordship and I Greek salads for a bit of honeymoon detox. I yanked out my glorious Greek olive oil and got to work.

Except that, unbeknownst to me, I purchased vinegar.

No one said I was fluent in Greek.

Opa!

Greek Salad
For one salad

1/2 seedless cucumber, cut into 1″ cubes
1 handful grape tomatoes, halved**
1/2 shallot, minced
1-2 Tbsps. capers
1 handful pitted Kalamata olives, halved
salt
black pepper, freshly ground
3-4 Tbsps. good Greek olive oil
1 1″ slab Thessaloni feta
1-2 tsps. fresh oregano, chopped, or 1 tsp. Herbs de Provence

Combine cucumber, tomatoes, shallot, capers, and olives in bowl; season with salt and pepper to taste; toss with olive oil; place in salad bowl; top with feta and herbs; drizzle with more olive oil; serve immediately.

**Substitute vine-ripened tomatoes or heirloom tomatoes when in season.

Making up for the cheese I didn't eat the last two weeks.

Making up for the cheese I didn’t eat the last two weeks.

4 responses to “Greek Salad.

Leave a Reply

