Farro with Artichoke & Basil Pesto.

Recently, a frolleague of mine (that’s a Lewis term for friend and colleague) suggested I start adding squats and lunges to my weekly workout routines to get faster at running.

I cringed at this, as one set of either squats or lunges leaves me feeling sore for a week.

Nevertheless, I started adding them to my gym workouts once a week.

On Wednesday, I performed three sets of lunges with 8-pound weights.

On Thursday (that’s yesterday), I stood up from my desk and pulled something in my foot.

Frantic, I texted His Lordship, who was en route to his bachelor party in Key West.

I called my physical therapist for an emergency session, only to find out he was on vacation.

“TINA. I THINK I SNAPPED MY PLANTAR FASCIA. WHAT DO I DO?!!,” I told the receptionist.

I texted His Lordship again. He instructed me to mull things over with his co-coach, Speedy Sasquatch, who could give me advice and another name for his PT.

“I don’t think it’s your foot,” he stated. “Tell me, are your calves tight?”

“…Tight? …Maybe?” (I’m an excellent athlete.)

“Sometimes,” he continued, “I’ll go through the same thing if my calves or quads are really tight. Try stretching and foam rolling. If you run, go out really easy and stretch halfway through.”

For sure I thought he was wrong (hasn’t anyone figured out that I’m always right?!).

I started out for an easy run. My comrade was telling me about her recent class at Equinox. And then I realized that my calves and quads actually were tight.

“Josh was right,” I said.

“I hate it when that happens,” my comrade replied (she is also female, and also always right).

And that was the time I was very dramatic and removed squats and lunges from my workout repertoire.

And now, a recipe.

Farro with Asparagus & Basil Pesto
Serves 4

Seen here on top of mixed greens and a healthy dollop of ricotta.

Seen here on top of mixed greens and a healthy dollop of ricotta.

½ cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus extra
1 small yellow onion, diced
2 large cloves garlic, minced
salt
black pepper, freshly ground
1 cup farro, rinsed
2 cups chicken stock
1 cup water
1 cup basil leaves
⅓ cup hazelnuts
1 clove garlic
2 cans artichoke hearts, quartered

1. Bring 1-2 Tbsps. olive oil to medium heat in large saute pan; add onion; season; soften for 5 minutes; add garlic; saute 2-3 minutes; add farro; toss to combine; add chicken stock and water; bring to boil; reduce to simmer; cook for 30-35 minutes or until farro is cooked through**; season to taste; reserve, keeping warm.

2. Meanwhile, make pesto: place basil, hazelnuts, garlic, salt, and pepper in food processor; pulse; with motor running, stream in olive oil until well combined and thick; season to taste; reserve.

3. Assembly: place reserved farro, basil pesto, and artichoke hearts in large mixing bowl; toss to combine; season to taste; serve warm.

**Some water may be left in the pot. Should this happen and your farro is al dente, drain the excess water.

One response to “Farro with Artichoke & Basil Pesto.

Leave a Reply

