Treadmill Vs. Lewis. Round 1.

I’m sure you’ve all heard about the lovely weather we’re having here in the Northeast. 

Ew.

Ew.

And with 6 miles of tempo on tap for Thursday, I had no choice: I had to run in the gym. 

For many, running on a treadmill is the norm. I used to run on a treadmill in college, but always preferred to run around the gym track or outdoors. Nowadays, treadmill running gives me anxiety, and I’m not sure why. Perhaps it’s the thought of tripping and tumbling backward to my death, or perhaps it’s watching the clock tick by, counting down to the very second I finish a set of intervals. 

Either way, I loathe it.

But, thanks to Hercules, it was my only option. 

And so, on Thursday night, I amped myself up for a big gym workout. ‘Pour yourself a HUGE glass of wine upon your arrival home!,’ I told myself when I saddled up to the ‘mill. Sounded like a good reward after 6 miles of people watching on 34th street. 

I started out at a reasonable pace (8:30), and after two minutes, I kicked it up to 7:30. I noticed a gentleman jump on the treadmill next to me. I used him as my guide; for however long he ran, I would run too. Unfortunately for me, he ran for only 5 minutes. 

So there I was. Watching the minutes tick by my lonesome. 

Twenty minutes and only 2.5 miles later, I stopped. Feeling defeated, I got on a bike and spun for 20 minutes. 

I suspect that we’ll get more winter weather in the near future. I dread the day a snowstorm hits when I have a long run to complete.

 

Leave a Reply

