Wrap It Up: Buffalo, NY.

Just to be clear: I did not go to Buffalo this weekend for the Bills/Pats game. I loathe the Patriots, and do not have a bank account that lets me frivolously fly to NFL games. (Although I wish I did.)

His Lordship and I traveled west for a family wedding (congrats, Lauren and Bryan!), and while it was a quick trip, there was most certainly time for drinks and Buffalo wings. Because, apparently, that’s what you do in Buffalo.

So, let’s wrap it up.

No. of Buffalo Wings Consumed: 25. This was over two meals at two different restaurants. Also, I only had one of those. His Lordship may not eat another wing until sometime next year.

He hasn't even started eating yet. So this should be labeled as foreshadowing.

He hasn’t even started eating yet. So this should be labeled as foreshadowing.

Restaurant Recommendation of the Weekend: Anchor Bar. After much debate from family and friends over who had “the best wings,” we made a lunch trip to the OG on Main Street, where (after much anticipation and wait) several wings were consumed. Seeing as how we had a wedding to go to after lunch, aka, I needed to fit into a form fitting dress, I opted for the turkey club. It was outstanding. So outstanding that I was still worried about fitting in that dress. Related: take the necessary antacids before venturing to anything regarding “the original Buffalo wing.”

Yes, it really was amazing.

Yes, it really was amazing.

No. of Miles Run: None. I completed my 18-miler before the trip to enjoy my weekend. Instead, I swam laps… in a very, very small hotel pool. And it was only for 20 minutes. And I was exhausted and rewarded myself with wine and the aforementioned turkey club because CLEARLY I burned a gajillion calories. A great reason why I will never be a triathlete. Or a mathematician.

No. of Chocolate Martinis Consumed: 4. At the aptly-named The Chocolate Bar, nestled in our hotel. Chocolate/Peanut Butter, S’mores, and two Chocolate Mints.

So, that about sums it up. There was no running, but there was consumption of both fried things and mass quantities of high calorie alcoholic beverages.

Sorry parents, for being the perfect picture of health. Cheers!

Taken at the reception. Wings were not included at the reception.

Taken at the reception. Wings were not included at the reception.

3 responses to “Wrap It Up: Buffalo, NY.

  1. Sorry Uncle Glenn and I missed the wedding but always enjoy your take on the food and surrounding amenities! xo

Leave a Reply

