Wrap It Up: Roanoke, Virginia.

It’s been over two years since the last time I visited Roanoke, and I will say that, for the record, this quaint city never disappoints.

My last adventure included cheese, Jeremy Irons, Stefan remakes, hiking, and llamas. Thank Christ my most recent adventure was wildly similar. Don’t be jealous.

So let’s wrap it up in the Star City, shall we?

IMG_4341

Restaurant Recommendation: Although this is a tough one (everyone is of the local, sustainable, farming ilk), I’ll put my foot down with Lucky. The portions are huge, the cheese plates grand, and, while I didn’t experience it for myself, I hear the bartender whispers sweet serenades of velvet. I don’t know what this means either, but my partner in crime swears by it. Oh bartender, speak to me in velvety tones whilst making me a luscious Manhattan.

We Went There Twice For Good Reason: Blues BBQ Co. Need some good post-race fuel? Go fill up on pulled pork, succotash, and hush puppies worth their weight in gold. This spot is also great to wait out those afternoon torrential downpours. (See? We went twice.)

The “Please Don’t Judge Me, I Love Cats” Award Goes To: The mother effing Cat Circus. Yes, it’s real. And yes, the $18.72 price tag was worth it to go see the Acrocats. I watched a cat named Tuna play a cowbell. And a chicken play the tambourine. I laughed so hard I cried. And, while there was the cowbell playing Tuna and some cats did various tricks, we learned that you truly can’t train a cat to do anything. Good thing the circus ringmaster has 16 cats at home. Lesson learned.

IMG_4370

THEY “PLAY” INSTRUMENTS.

And, for good measure, let’s look at the numbers:

No. Of Restaurants Accomplished: Nine. So many glorious food destinations in Roanoke, including a burger joint with phenomenal tots.

No. Of Miles Run: 15.5. A shakeout run and the Blue Ridge Half.

That's us!

That’s us!

No. Of #BostonStrong Friendship Bracelets Made: Three. Two of us wore them during the half marathon.

That sums it up.

And speaking of #BostonStrong, hats off to the hundreds (yes, hundreds) who ran as one in Central Park last night. I’m so proud to be apart of such a beautiful community.

IMG_4374

One response to “Wrap It Up: Roanoke, Virginia.

  1. Pingback: Recap: Blue Ridge Half Marathon. | The Lewis Report·

Leave a Reply

