Orecchiette With Brussels Sprouts/Roasted Carrots/Goat Cheese.

So, I’ve been a little quiet this week. So quiet, in fact, that I’ve been falling asleep between 8:30-9:00 on most nights. And before the sleeping hour, due to stuffing my face with anything and everything, most likely because I’m in the thick of training.

Yes, the Connemarathon is less than one month away.

Joy.

I’m beyond intimidated, as this race is much hillier than anything ’round these part (whoops, there goes the South in me), I’m sure to be jet lagged, I haven’t run a marathon in a year, and I’ll be running without anything to keep me distracted whilst running (no headphones). BUT, the show must go on, and more three hour runs will be had.

Woof.

Orecchiette With Brussels Sprouts/Roasted Carrots/Goat Cheese
Serves 2

Little ears full of veg.

Little ears full of veg.

Ingredients
1 pint Brussels sprouts, cleaned, cut in half, and sliced into half moons (No, they will not stay in half moons. It’s fine.)
1 medium shallot diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
5 medium carrots, halved and sliced into 1/2-inch thick half moons
4 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
½ pound orecchiette pasta
Extra-virgin olive oil
Salt & pepper

Procedure
1. Roast carrots: Preheat oven to 400˚F. Toss carrots with olive oil, salt, pepper, and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Roast for 30-35 minutes until golden brown. Remove from oven; cool; reserve.
2. Meanwhile, prepare Brussels: heat 2-3 Tbsps. olive oil in large sauté pan over medium heat. Add shallot and garlic; sauté until golden, about 3-4 minutes. Add Brussels sprouts and saute for 10 minutes, until golden brown. Season with salt and pepper; add carrots and combine.
3. Prepare pasta: Bring a large pot of salted water to a rolling boil. Add pasta, cook according to directions to al dente (10 minutes). Transfer pasta to Brussels/carrots; toss with goat cheese and pasta water if necessary; season with salt and pepper; serve.

8 responses to “Orecchiette With Brussels Sprouts/Roasted Carrots/Goat Cheese.

  1. This sounds 1) delightful, and 2) like something I could even make. Alas, b sprouts are a bitch to prepare, and if I’m going to do all that work, there sure as shit better be bacon involved.

  2. I heart brussels and orecchiette and goal cheese but I’ll forgo the carrots. This sounds like a good viognier dish too….

  3. This sounds so amazing. I wish I knew how much “1 pint” was, and also what a half moon shape is when it comes to cutting. I also wish I knew what you mean when you say “shallot.” Since I’m clearly far too incompetent to make this dish, just let me know when I can come over to sample yours…

Leave a Reply

