Hummus.

When the snow falls a bit too heavy, the running subsides. We received a foot of snow on top of ice over the weekend, so my scheduled 16 miles became just over 13.5. And thank God we had birthday plans on Saturday eve, otherwise we would not have left the apartment.

No, I'd rather not.

No, I’d rather not.

That said, I typically opt for bouts of cooking and baking during the cold winter months, baking being the less of the two, as I have no patience for it. (For example, I made these cookies on Friday night, and it took three batches to get it right. Woof.)

There are certain foods that His Lordship asks me to make every so often, one of them being hummus. If I had it my way, I’d go to Barbounia and purchase the Mediterranean treat at least once a week, but my bank account would be depleted.

Disclaimer: Barbounia has the best hummus in Manhattan. Should you beg to differ, message me. I’d love to see who has better.

I decided to make said treat to be apart of my weekend appetizer spread, and made a double batch to serve two variations.

His Lordship approved. I hope you do, too.

Hummus

Beauty.

Beauty.

Ingredients
1 15 oz. can chickpeas, drained
2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
2 to 3 Tbsps. freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 heaping Tbsp. tahini paste
1 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus extra for serving
salt and pepper
pita chips or crackers for serving

Procedure
1. Place chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, tahini, salt and pepper in bowl of food processor. Pulse until mixture forms into a paste. With the motor running, stream in olive oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
2. To serve: scoop hummus into serving bowl, drizzle with extra-virgin olive oil.

Spicy Harissa variation: Add 2 Tbsps. of harissa paste to food processor before pulsing. 

I highly recommend the Mina brand.

I highly recommend the Mina brand.

4 responses to “Hummus.

  1. The only thing wrong with your Hummus is that it starts with the letter “H”. It’s a middle eastern food, and in nearly all languages there’s a guttural “Ch” sound that is used. I just hate going to a restaurant, ordering “Choomoos” (sounds like you are clearing your throat), and have the server look at you like you have 3 heads. Other than that, your Hummus looks delicious 🙂

      • Well that makes much more sense! But then, hey wait a minute, is it weird that he refers to himself as “His Lordship?” Either way, I forgot to wish you proper congratulations. Your engagement story is wonderfully romantic!

Leave a Reply

