Greetings From Post-Marathon Season.

Oh, hi! I don’t know if you’ve heard, but my spring training season is over.

Ergo, I’m officially doing nothing.

Well, I wouldn’t call it ‘nothing,’ per se. Here’s what I’m actually doing: going to Costco, spending Saturday mornings hungover, and also, running because I want to, and not because of what’s on my training schedule.

It’s quite brilliant, really. Don’t get me wrong, I love training season (seriously, I do), but as of right now, I’m thoroughly enjoying myself being free of obligation. I feel as if I just took summer vacation for the first time since High School. And it’s BEAUTIFUL.

Last weekend was the first time I didn’t have anything on my schedule in months. I went out Friday night with girlfriends. I vacuumed the crap out of my apartment,  (I’m not sure if you’re aware, but my cat is one fuzzy creature), cooked, day drank, and caught up on my DVR. It was glorious. 

I heard of my friends racing this weekend, and I couldn’t be more proud of their success. But I was completely elated with standing on the sidelines than actually performing the deed.

Don’t worry (not that you are), I managed to accomplish some miles this weekend. But it was for sheer enjoyment, and I didn’t even care that my Garmin couldn’t find satellites for the first 1.2 miles. Best part? It ended at Costco on 116th Street in Harlem—something that has been on my To Do list for EVER, and it has finally been accomplished.

1. Go to Costco: Buy Café Bustelo in bulk.

Pretty little maids, all in a row.

Man, I love crossing things off my ‘To Do’ list. Feels so good. I hope to soon follow suit with items on my summer bucket list (I swear, I WILL get to Coney Island one of these days).

But until then, you can find me, uh… where ever I feel like going, and doing whatever I feel like doing.

Astor, too, enjoys doing nothing.

The end.

2 responses to “Greetings From Post-Marathon Season.

  1. awesome! doing nothing sounds fantastic. I haven’t ever gone in that Costco because I always gravitate first to Target and buy too much stuff to carry around. Also, I am SO SAD we’ll never randomly see each other in the morning anymore 😦 Let’s plan a get together sometime soon!

  2. Pingback: Whoops. I Lied. | The Lewis Report·

Leave a Reply

