I’m Doing What This Weekend?

I knew the month of May would be gone before I knew it. I knew I had a lot of things to take care of between traveling, marathoning, and deadlines.

I did not, however, know that all of this put together would make me more apathetic and less inclined to continue training. And now, along with eight of my running friends, I have a 200-mile relay to perform in Massachusetts this weekend. Ergo, it’s race week.

Originally, I was going to be a part of last year’s relay, and as luck would have it, my plans fell changed due to unforeseen circumstances, so I signed up for the 2012 race in January. Finally, I was running a relay! Excitement ensued.

Last week, as teammates do, we gathered at a bar for beers, camaraderie, and general talk of what was to be expected for the weekend. Still in travel mode, I wasn’t really with it, and I found myself looking at a spreadsheet of everyone’s legs to run for the weekend, and talking about what to expect (not much sleeping, hallucinations, and mass quantities of body odors).

‘Hooray!’ I thought. ‘Camaraderie and B.O.! This is exciting. I have plenty of time to get back on my training. After all, it’s over a week away. Plenty of runs to be had. Somebody please pass the nachos.’

Looking over my training on DailyMile, I have run precisely 21 miles in the last three week time period.

How many miles am I running during the 24-hour relay? 20.42.

Shit.

So let’s review what has happened over the last three weekends: Kentucky Derby Marathon, travel for a trade show, attend a wedding. And now it’s time to run a relay. A relay that I thought would be no problem for I would still be in post-marathon glory. And, apparently, my post-marathon glory has involved pig face, bone marrow, and drinking wine on a beach.

I have grown nervous about my upcoming performance. What am I really to expect? What about bathrooms? And nutrition? What happens if I drop the baton which is actually a slap bracelet or so I’ve been told? Have I forgotten how to drive? WHAT IF I GET INJURED HIT BY A CAR? DO YOU SEE WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOUR EGO GETS THE BEST OF YOU?

I did not think this through.

Calm down, Lewis. You signed up for this. It’s going to be a fun weekend filled with continuous running.

I will not disappoint my teammates. I will, however, apologize in advance should I have severe narcolepsy and fall asleep during the middle of an 8 mile leg.

I will also probably be told by His Lordship that I’m “overreacting” and “being a girl.”

Reach the Beach Relay begins in three days. Lock and load.

7 responses to “I’m Doing What This Weekend?

  1. You’ll be fiiiinnnee! It sounds like it’ll be a super fun experience and I’m sure you’ll love it. Also, a narcoleptic episode mid-run would be something for the record books and I’m sad I may miss it. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!!

  2. Keys to a successful relay: ziploc bags, baby wipes, extra tartar sauce on your fish sammich, spearmint leaves candy, canned coffee. DO IT LEW!

  3. Keys to a successful relay: ziploc bags, baby wipes, extra tartar sauce on your fish sammich, spearmint leave candy, canned coffee. DO IT LEW!!!

  4. Just remember: You’re body can do anything, it’s your mind that defeats you. Don’t let your mind try to tell you that you can’t do something you can! Sounds fun, so have fun. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Recap: Reach The Beach Relay. | The Lewis Report·

Leave a Reply

