A Tip From Abbe Lew.

Also known as “how to be obnoxious in the workplace.” Or “how to annoy your friends.” Whichever you choose.It’s true, I am that person in the office that will get annoying songs stuck in your head. And sometimes, you won’t even know it happened until you’re bursting at the seams with lyrics from hit singles like, “She Works Hard for the Money,” or the theme song from Jem and the Holograms.

I try to contain myself, but sometimes when I zone into my work, I have no choice but to let loose of what goes on inside my brain.

Thus brings me to the moment you’ve all been waiting for (and really, you’ve been waiting for this)—the one song that is sure to get in the heads of all your colleagues and stay there for at least four solid days—the hit boy scout song, “On Top of Spaghetti.”

I figured this out one day when His Lordship and his sister-in-law to be started singing it with each other on the streets of Manhattan.

I then started to sing this at work. It immediately got in the head of my colleague to which she then started singing it with me. And you know what’s great about this song? The lyrics. Honestly, who goes to find a meatball under a bush? I have no doubt that it turned into mush, but why did you insist on eating it?

But then after that line with that poor meatball rolling under a bush I became befuddled… What happened to the meatball? I couldn’t remember.. What was I taught in the 1st grade? I desperately needed to find out.

Thus, ye olde Google search led me to a lyric website with said song. I read it out loud. Everyone started to laugh. I sent the link to dear friend Danielle. And that’s when it happened. That’s when she pointed out something so very important.

There is a song file embedded in that webpage.

I now direct you to listen to the children’s classic on ScoutSongs.com where a gentle voice will serenade you on a journey of a lone meatball.

You like that, don’t you? That’s what I thought. Run along now, go sing it to your cube mates.

And in the future, remember to hold onto your meatball whenever you sneeze.

Leave a Reply

