Individual Breakfast Casseroles.

So. When I was in culinary school, we had a class that will forever live on as “The Infamous Egg Day.” That’s right. A five-hour class completely devoted to all things eggs. Now, I’ll be honest, I love eggs. I love that you can do anything with eggs. And the dishes we made were killer.

To start, everyone was paired off except me. I was to work by myself, set up my station and complete the 95,082 recipes of the day. Things happened. I over-reduced the cream. I broke my hollandaise. I did, however, manage to make the perfect scrambled eggs (a skill I proudly picked up when I was a kid).

And then tragedy struck. Feeling like shit, I got back into the locker room to find out that I had a sweat stain on the entire front of my shirt. Apparently I had a fever. That led to a four day bout with a bedridden flu. I haven’t been able to enjoy eggs since. I love making them for family, friends, guests, etc. But the minute I ingest one is like dropping a protein-packed grenade into my stomach.

Regardless, I still make eggs for His Lordship every other weekend, and he thoroughly enjoys it.

With that said, I now give you something completely different—breakfast. And hopefully that story didn’t gross you out enough to the point where you don’t eat these delightful beauties.

Individual Breakfast Casseroles
Serves 2

Ingredients
2 pieces of multi-grain bread, toasted and cut into small triangles
2 large eggs
2 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
¼ cup chopped vine-ripened tomato
Butter
Salt & freshly cracked black pepper

Special equipment: 2 ramekins or individual oven-proof soup containers (such as French onion soup crocks)

Procedure:
1. Preheat oven to 400. Butter ramekins.

 

2. Overlap the slices in each ramekin, putting four in each. Crack egg over top of bread and season with salt and pepper. Top with crumbled goat cheese and tomatoes. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until eggs are set and cooked.

The beauty of making these casseroles is you can essentially top the eggs with anything that tickles your fancy. So do what you will. And enjoy!

One response to “Individual Breakfast Casseroles.

  1. Damn, I read this recipe and thought “butter ramekins” were an actual foodstuff, not an instruction. I could put back at least 3 butter ramekins in one sitting. Maybe four, since no one makes me breakfast casseroles, so I’d be hungry to begin with. The end.

Leave a Reply

