Protein Packed Pasta.

Or what I like to call “Pasta Using Shit I Found in My Pantry.”I realize I haven’t posted a recipe in a very long time. For this, I sincerely apologize. Sometimes life gets in the way of your downtime. So. That’s my apology. And that’s the name of that tune.

Anywho. Over the months, I have collected things through work, grocery stores, bodegas, etc. So, before I head out to the grocery store I like to see what I can take out of said pantry and come up with something that only needs a remaining one or two ingredients, if any.

I recently purchased a case of delicious tuna through Open Sky, delightfully named: American Tuna. Thanks for the recommendation, Mr. Colicchio!

And this is what I came up with. It’s packed with protein, and I have eaten this the night before a long training run (which ended up being stellar).

pasta in all its glory.

**Side note: I made this pasta this evening. This is the first time I’ve opened up a can of tuna where Astor hasn’t immediately run to the kitchen to beg for this delicious treat. Methinks he has a cold or hearing problems.

Enjoy!

Pasta with Tuna, White Beans & Arugula

Ingredients
½ pound pasta
½ white onion, thinly sliced
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
1 can of albacore tuna, packed in olive oil
1 can cannelini beans, drained and rinsed
2 heaping handfuls of arugula
Grana Padano cheese, grated
salt & pepper

Procedure
1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.
2. In a large nonstick skillet, heat onion over medium heat for five minutes. Reduce heat to low, and continue to cook and soften until caramelized (roughly 15-20 minutes). Add garlic, saute five minutes more. Season with salt and pepper.
3. Cook pasta according to directions. Drain**, saving pasta water.
4. Add tuna and beans, saute for 3-4 minutes to heat through. Add Arugula and toss. Season with salt and pepper.
5. Add pasta, toss with grated Grana Padano. If sauce is too dry, add a ladle of pasta water. Serve and eat the noms.

**To do a bit of multitasking, cook the pasta during the time you are cooking the sauce (or what you are tossing the al dente pasta with) so that the finish times coincide with one another. This makes it easy to add the pasta directly to said sauce, leaving you with pasta water that you may need to incorporate after tossing.

2 responses to “Protein Packed Pasta.

  1. Pingback: Pasta with Mushrooms/Thyme/Pine Nuts | The Lewis Report·

Leave a Reply

