“I’m ready.”

That’s what I said this morning when I woke from my slumber [sans nightmares from a very twisted movie—The Last House on the Left (1972)].  Actually, the conversation when something like this:

Me: ….I’m ready.
His Lordship: For what? Coffee?
Me: Running 26.2 miles.
H.L.: Yeah you are!And then I was ready for coffee.

I know I’ve been up and down through this process, and have gotten quite emotional through the tapering. But that’s to be expected (at least I think so, anyway).

Now it’s five days out. And I feel ready. I’ve put in the work and the training. I’ve kept my mind focused (and let’s be honest, most of this marathoning is a really “fun” mental game). It’s time for me to go out and have fun.

Friday, I am traveling to Chicagoland where I will be greeted by my best friends. It will be a glorious weekend of Rick Bayless food-eating, Marathon expo-ing, and lots of pasta cookery pre-race.

And on Sunday, I will run my first marathon. On my birthday.

Let’s get this party started.

4 responses to ““I’m ready.”

  1. I shall be (I think) around 5.5 and 9.5. in Lincoln Park. I’m not too good with maps, so those might not be my precise locations, but you’ll know when you’re approaching me, because I will be EXTREMELY enthusiastic. Also, publicly intoxicated. Can’t wait to cheer you on!

  2. So very excited for you… truly nothing like that first one!! Keep your head in the game and run with your heart, you can’t go wrong.

Leave a Reply

