This Week in Wonderments.

I tend to think that my mind is similar to a giant conference room where I sit at the head of the table having word vomit about anything and everything. Since a blog is supposed to be an ‘online journal,’ I’ve decided to collect all of my general wonderings in a simple list. It may be weekly, It may be monthly. But these are things that I just wanted to throw out there. Take it or leave it. Just don’t judge me.

1. Sam Sifton is leaving his post as Restaurant Critic of the New York Times to become the paper’s National Editor. This actually upsets me. Although I’m happy for him in his career, I thoroughly enjoyed Mr. Sifty as our city’s restaurant critic, especially when he wrote a horribly funny review about the mammoth Midtown restaurant, Lavo. NY Times better find someone sharp and witty. That’s all I’m saying. I wish him the best of luck in all of his endeavors.

2. There are some days where I think my cat is human. Just look at him in all of his regal-ness.

He does a good job of staring into your soul.

And, like most males, he enjoys the occasional party. But in his case, he enjoys the aromas of cleaning supplies. And, like most males, he is horribly afraid of cockroaches. He would rather hide underneath the coffee table than chase a cockroach. What kind of cat does that? Pfftt.

3. While waiting for His Lordship at a bar, the once popular “It’s All Coming Back To Me Now” by Celine Dionstarted to play over the loudspeakers. In my head I was belting this song out in a scene not so different from the old house in the music video. I wondered if anyone else in the bar/restaurant was envisioning the same. I then thought to myself, ‘man…if I tweeted that right now, I bet at least 11 people would unfollow me…” Then it hit: every staff member (men included) started to belt out the song. I tweeted it two seconds later.

4. Frying Dutchmen, with your bright red truck and your clever pun, “Get Rich Or Die Fryin’ “ painted on the front, you intrigue me. I fully intend on trying your frites after Chicago.

Frites for all.

5. Speaking of Chicago, I no longer look at my birthday as my birthday, but simply as “D Day.” And I feel like it’s taking forever to get here.

6. And speaking of Chicago, I finished my longest run last Saturday: 21.33 miles. Afterward, I was pretty ill (angry, nauseous, etc.). I grabbed a cup of the world’s greatest iced coffee (or at least it was at the time) with Samantha, and head home to lay in bed for what seemed like an eternity. When I finally pulled myself back out of bed, I realized to myself that I only had five miles to go at that point. It was at that point I realized that I can actually do this. The marathon is obtainable.

And it’s almost here.
T minus 23 days and counting.

One response to “This Week in Wonderments.

  1. LMAO – I had a similar experience to #3 recently, but it was unbreak my heart on the pandora at a friend’s party.

    …………

    ……………………..

    …..

    “….UNCRY theeeeese teeeeeears I cried so many nights”
    You know you were thinking it ❤

Leave a Reply

