Special Request.

One of my dearest friends, Kristin, commented on my Tomato post and suggested that I put my Mother’s Tomato Sandwich recipe on my site. Today is Kristin’s birthday (HAPPY BIRTHDAY!), thus making today the perfect day to post the recipe.

College Roommates: Kristin, Myself & Kristy at Katie’s Bridal Shower in 2009. Complete with Mater Samiches.

I’m honestly baffled at why I did not include this in the original post, as it is the most requested (and complimented) appetizer for any Lewis gathering (“OOOOHHH, CAN MAMA LEW MAKE TOMATO SANDWICHES, PUHHH-LEEAAASSEEEE???”). Truth.
These are incredibly easy. And also beyond delicious.

And addictive.

Let’s be honest, the way that I make them will never live up to my Mother’s standards. For to quote Kristin:

“I don’t know what magic your Mom does on those tomatoes but seriously…they don’t taste earthy.”

Happy Birthday to one of my oldest and dearest friends. Enjoy.

Mama Lew’s Tomato Samiches

Deliciousness.

Ingredients
2 Vine-Ripened or Beefsteak Tomatoes
(Or if you’re me, any variety of tomato will do)
White Sandwich Bread (Such as Wonder Bread)
Lowry’s Season Salt
Duke’s Mayonnaise

Special Equipment: 1 2” Round Cookie Cutter

Procedure
1. Make rounds out of the slices of white bread using the 2” cookie cutter. Set bread slices aside.
2. Assemble Sandwiches: Take two bread rounds and spread thin layer of mayonnaise over both slices of bread. Sprinkle season salt over mayo, top with tomato slice, and close sandwich with another slice of bread. Serve.

**Note: The longer these sandwiches sit, the more rich they taste. And if my Mother ends up making them for you, well, count your blessings and consider yourself the luckiest person on the planet.

3 responses to “Special Request.

  1. I think I need to place my order now for Thanksgiving…even though it will be a bit out of tomato season or maybe I will just settle for a fondue party like the good ole college days. 🙂

  2. hahahahahaha I LOVE this special lewis report 🙂
    Your mom does make the best damn tomato sandwiches ever!

Leave a Reply

