I Say Tomatoes.

This, my friends, is a true story.

You know what’s weird?

I used to hate tomatoes. I mean, despise them. I can recall going to a “smooth jazz” concert hosted by some lite FM station in the Triangle area, and my host made me and my friend eat tomato sandwiches. It took me everything in me not to gag up the sandwich (I think I put an entire bag of potato chips in between the slices of bread to get it down).

Then my taste buds changed.

I long for the hot summer days filled with tomatoes: beefsteak, heirloom, cherry, lemon boy, oh hell. Fried green. The list may as well go on forever. Slice them up, serve with salt and freshly cracked pepper. The end. I think I may have come up with eleventy billion different recipes involving the wondrous fruit.

From the Union Square Green Market

So guess what? I’m going to share a few recipes with you. Why? Because you too should enjoy the frivolity and juiciness of the tomato. And, if you would like, feel free to post your favorite tomato recipe. I’m always looking for inspiration.

Behold, I give you…TOMATOES!

Abbe & Jackie’s Baller Burrata BLT

BLTs may be simple: bacon, lettuce, tomato. However, if using ingredients or exceptional quality, and then throw on some luscious, juicy burrata cheese, well…Now we’re talkin.

Ingredients

6 slices of applewood smoked bacon (splurge if you can and buy a good variety), cooked until crispy
2 Heirloom tomatos of any variety, sliced
1 ball of burrata cheese, sliced
1 head of butter lettuce, leaves torn
4 slices good quality bread, such as sourdough or

Assembly

Stack lettuce, tomatoes, and burrata on one slice of bread. Place under broiler until burrata is warmed through and slightly melted. Top with bacon and other slice of bread. Cut into halves and serve.

Grape Tomato & Thai Basil Bruschetta

I used to grow Thai basil in my backyard. A typical Manhattan apartment does not have said backyard. Note to self: Find backyard to grow fresh herbs.

Ingredients

1 baguette loaf, cut into one-inch slices
1 pint of grape tomatoes, cut on the bias
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch Thai basil, cut into chiffonade
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Maldon Salt
Pepper

Procedure

1. Heat oven to 350. On a sheet tray covered with parchment paper, line baguette slices and drizzle with olive oil. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden in color. Cool.
2. Combine tomatoes, garlic, basil in a bowl. Drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Toss until well seasoned and mixed.
3. Line a serving platter with baguette slices. Spoon tomato mixture over bread and serve!
**Side note: Bruschetta can also be served with the tomato mixture in a bowl so guests can serve as themselves as they wish.**

Deconstructed Guacamole

Ingredients

1 vine-ripened tomato, cored and sliced
1 hass avocado, pitted and sliced
1 lime
1 red onion, sliced
Salt and Pepper
Cilantro, for garnish
Extra Virgin Olive Oil, for garnish

Procedure

1. Saute the onion slices in 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium-high heat until golden brown.  Once cooked, remove from heat, sprinkle with salt and pepper.
2. Season the tomato slices with salt and pepper.
3. Juice the lime and pour over the avocado slices to prevent oxidation.  Season with salt and pepper.
4. Stack in order:  tomatoes, onion, avocado and repeat.  Sprinkle with chopped cilantro and olive oil.  Serve.

3 responses to “I Say Tomatoes.

  1. I’m not sure there’s anything more delicious thank big juicy sweet tomatoes. So yum! As of late, my favorite salad is arugula with slices of heirloom tomato, grilled peach and burrata, drizzled with a bit of balsamic reduction. OMG… delicious.

  2. Ummm What about Mama Lew’s tomato sandwiches. Those are by far my favorite thing to deal with tomatoes. I don’t even really like to eat tomatoes but I make an exception for her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

