Salmon With Lemon/Rosemary Beurre Blanc.

Lately I’ve been reminiscing about my time in culinary school.

And I’ll save my love for such for a different blog post.

I’ve been mulling over my course books and recipes (NOT poule au pot, that bitch), and reintroducing them into the Lewis-Baker household.

The beurre blanc—the white butter sauce—was one of the first emulsified sauces I learned.

It’s simple. It’s delicious.

And that’s what she said.

Badaboom.

Salmon with Lemon/Rosemary Beurre Blanc
Serves 2

Please note: I did NOT strain the sauce as I love shallots. I'm also lazy.

Please note: I did NOT strain the sauce as I love shallots. I’m also lazy.

Beurre Blanc:
1 small shallot, finely minced
3 Tbsps. white wine vinegar
⅔ cup white wine
7 oz. unsalted cold butter, cut into cubes
salt
white pepper, freshly ground
1 lemon, zested
1 Tbsp. rosemary leaves, minced

Place shallots, vinegar, and white wine in small saucepan; reduce over low heat until 1 Tbsp. of liquid remains; whisk in cold butter a little at a time; strain; add lemon zest and rosemary; adjust seasoning.

Salmon:
2 4-6 oz. salmon fillets
salt
black pepper, freshly ground
extra-virgin olive oil

Heat 2-3 Tbsps. oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat; season salmon fillets on each side; place fillets skin-side down in pan; cook 4-5 minutes depending on thickness; flip**; cook 3-4 minutes or less depending on desired temperature; serve with lemon/rosemary beurre blanc.

**Proteins are meant to be flipped only one time when cooking. If your protein doesn’t give when you try to flip it (it’s sticking to the pan), continue letting it cook.

 

3 responses to “Salmon With Lemon/Rosemary Beurre Blanc.

Leave a Reply

